Secretary General, National Research Council (NRC), Canada
International Research and Innovation Collaboration and Networks: a NRC Perspective Session 4 - 30th October 15:30-17:15

Dr. Roger Scott-Douglas is Secretary General of the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) where he acts as secretary to the NRC Council. He also supports the President in advancing the Government's innovation agenda through the renewal of the NRC, a task he began in his previous position of Vice-President, Policy and Governance, which he took up in September 2016.

Formerly, Dr. Scott-Douglas was the Assistant Secretary, Priorities and Planning, Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS). He led the development of transition advice post-election 2015; the re-set of the Treasury Board policy suite; horizontal work on reducing internal red tape, and reform of the Management Accountability Framework. He renewed internal TBS governance, linking it to integrated planning, performance measurement and risk management. He also managed departmental Office of Auditor General (OAG) audits and served as Chief Delivery Officer and liaison for files involving the Privy Council Office.

From 2009-12, Dr. Scott-Douglas led the TBS Strategic Review, followed by the Secretariat tasked with supporting the Red Tape Reduction Commission.

Dr. Scott-Douglas's international experience includes OECD and World Bank missions to Europe, India and the Middle East. He co-chaired the OECD task force on the Observatory on Public Sector Innovation and, from 2006-09, worked with the Ministère du Budget, des Comptes publics et de la Fonction publique, in France, where he advised the Director General and Minister on a major public service change initiative based on Canada's 1995 Program Review. He has also represented Canada at the International Council for Science General Assembly. 

He has also held executive positions at Human Resources Development Canada, and senior analyst roles at the Privy Council Office and Western Economic Diversification.

Dr. Scott-Douglas has a Doctorate of Philosophy from the University of Cambridge, England, and is a Commonwealth Scholar.

Back to Speakers